1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with family

Discussion in 'Newbies to clowning' started by Hindssm, Sep 18, 2017.

1. Hindssm

Hindssm New Member

I am new to the possibility of clowning and I am meeting opposition with my wife who finds clowns "weird" and is not overly fond of the idea of me doing any sort of clowning.

I have a stage theatre history and have been in musicals, straight plays, street performance and children's shows. I feel like I have what it takes to be a clown but I hate thinking my wife would find a new passion of mine as off-putting and strange. How might I approach this subject sensitively and have any of you dealt with similar things?

2. Sir Toony Van Dukes

Sir Toony Van Dukes Well-Known Member

People won't always understand some things until you are successful and making money. Being a clown isn't always easy and some will say that movies like "It" hurt more at a time when there are fewer clowns performing at events. In some ways, now is a great time for those motivated to build their business because there are fewer clown and entertainers available. Many have shifted to doing balloons or face painting which seems to be very popular at events. Although a clown can entertain a crowd of people with a 30 minute show while a face painter is busy painting 10-15 kids in an hour.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Hindssm

Hindssm New Member

Thanks Dukes! It might take some time before I am fully "in the biz" but thanks for advice! I'm trying to get better at my physical humor and making a look for myself for now.

4. V

V Well-Known Member

Clowning, circa 2017, is off-putting and strange...