1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling to get my Clown sized foot in the door...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Bonkers The Clown, Apr 10, 2017.

1. Bonkers The Clown

Bonkers The Clown New Member

Good Morning Everyone!

My name is Bonkers The Clown and I am a total newbies to this glorious world of clowning. Clowns have fascinated me since I was very young, but not until quite recently have I considered actually becoming one myself. I've found it extremely liberating to begin constructing a new persona for myself (makeup, costume, personality), have away with all my normal worries, be silly and (hopefully soon) make other people laugh! So far this has only been a private hobby while I'm starting out, but I'm already desperate to give it a go for real!

The problem is that it seems very difficult to get started from the very bottom, having very little experience in performance and being rather reserved in front of large groups of people. I am based in the UK (Norwich), and it seems you lot over in the US have all the luck when it comes to clown workshops and classes :p

What suggestions could people give to learn some of the skills without the pressure of having prior experience in performance or clowning itself? Does anyone know of any good workshops for complete beginners here in the UK? Sorry to be a bit clueless and vague at this point!

Any help or advice would be much appreciated!

Love to you all,
    Bonkers

In hindsight this maybe should not be in the introductions thread, as I currently don't have much of a Clown to introduce, Oops! But I'm hoping I can get a bit of advice/guidance from you all and develop my Clown character into someone you can all properly say hello to!

Last edited: Apr 10, 2017
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  2. The NORMAL One

The NORMAL One Active Member